A spook-tacular day out!

Over the weekend I went with my wife and 2 year old daughter to the West Lodge Rural centre in Pipewell near Kettering. Now we go there regularly as it’s good value for money and offers plenty to entertain our little girl, but this time they had really pushed the boat out!

Between the 15th and the 31st October they are laying on Halloween entertainment for the half term, including a spooky tractor ride, Ghost stories, Pumpkin Carving and a guided tour round a witches house! There really wasn’t enough time to fit it all in one day.

Most of the stuff I do is really aimed at an adult audience, Personally I feel a commercial seance or ghost hunt can scar a kid for life if it’s too realistic. Also, I have never wanted to go down the route of childrens entertainment. It doesn’t suit my style and I had my share of Birthday parties from hell when I was first developing my art!

So I could really appreciate the fact that  the entertainment at West Lodge was aimed at all the family and I could see that the children in the audience being enchanted to the tales of Daisy the Witch and the old farmer that made one scarecrow to many meeting a grizzly end…

I can honestly say we thoroughly enjoyed the day and it was over too soon. A lot of care and attention to detail had been put into the extra activities and it was clear that this was something the organiser was passionate about.

If you have kids bouncing off the wall during the half term week and don’t know what to do with them this would make a good diversion and is well worth a visit.

You can get all the details of the Centre, including the Halloween attractions at their website. If you are in the area drop in, their Halloween activities run till the end of the month, don’t miss out!

Published in: on October 24, 2011 at 08:35  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lupinemagic.wordpress.com/2011/10/24/a-spook-tacular-day-out/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

